How to install blaze
Installing blaze is as easy as dropping the folder 'blaze' in your webroot. After having copied the entire folder there (not the contents of the folder but the folder itself), you should be able to run the installer by calling
yoursite.com should of course be replaced with your domain).
You will then see the blaze installer, which is super easy to complete and has to be done only once.
Finishing the installation process
During installation, blaze creates a central config file, named
config.json. It should be now located in your blaze folder. Make sure to backup the file, just in case. As no website contents are concerned by the configuration, you may loose it without loosing any of your site's content. If you did loose it, just run the installer again or reupload a backed up version of the file.
blaze also creates a new folder 'data' within blaze's main folder. In case you plan to update blaze every now and then, you should probably backup this folder too.
How to upgrade blaze?
The easy way
blaze ships with a plugin called 'update'. We recommend updating your blaze installation with one click (well two, actually...) and be happy. Read about it in the plugin documentation.
If your server does not have Curl installed or does not support the plugin for any other reason, you can also do the update manually:
The hard way
You will get the new version of blaze like you have already got the old one: there will be a blaze folder and that's it. You should upload this new blaze folder to your webroot replacing the old one.
I hope you are using a good FTP or SFTP client, which does not overwrite folders completely but the contents of the folders file by file (most FTP clients do nowadays). If you are, you will not have to worry, because neither the config file nor the important stuff in the data folder will be overwritten - just go ahead.
If you are not: make sure to backup your remote
config.json and the 'data' folder before upgrading! (You should do so either way.)
config.json holds your main configuration options. You could either download the existing one into the new blaze folder or place the backupped version in the new blaze folder after uploading everything (but before making any frontend calls).
If you are using a sqlite database, blaze will have it already placed in the 'data' folder. It should be named 'blazedb.db'. Also, uploaded branding files and the plugin setup files will be placed in the 'data' folder.
There should not be a 'data' folder within the files you upload, so the existing one should not get overwritten, but if I were you, I'd make a backup - just for the feeling of having a backup. ;-)
Make sure to also hold local backups of all plugins which are not included with blaze!
Dear god, I forgot to backup those files
Don't panic. Well, do so, if there was really important stuff in your sqlite database and you lost the database file now. But I would imagine that if you had important stuff to store, you'd be using a mysql database which cannot be deleted by accident.
If you lost the config.json, you will have to run the installer again (upload it again, if it is not online any more). If you branded the backend, you should have a backup of the branding settings. You don't? Well you will have to do the branding settings again and this time you should export your blazebrand (in case you find yourself in this situation again...).
If you have lost the data folder, you will notice that your plugins get disabled during installation. Make sure to reinstall them afterwards. If you had additional plugins in your plugins folder which were deleted, you will have to upload them again.
As you see, normally there should not be any major data loss in case you did not backup things. So, no reason to panic...